

## City of Pleasant Valley Missouri Emergency Meeting of the Board of Aldermen June 22, 2023

**Call to Order:** An emergency session meeting of the Pleasant Valley Board of Aldermen was called to order at City Hall, 6500 Royal Street, Pleasant Valley, Missouri, by Mayor James Smith, on Thursday, June 22, 2023, at 4:00 p.m. Copies of the agenda were available in the lobby for public inspection prior to the meeting.

## **Roll Call:**

**Present:** Mayor James Smith, Alderwoman Linda Jacoby, Alderwoman Ruth Mesimer, Alderman Tom Moss, Alderman Patrick Gallagher, and Alderwoman Serenity Ohlsen. **Absent:** Alderman Rick Scarborough, Alderman James Page, and Alderwoman Mary Langner

## **Staff Present:**

**Staff Present:** City Clerk Matthew Chapman

**Public Present:** None

**Finance Committee:** Finance Chair Mesimer stated that a decision needed to be made about what to do with the Sewer CD currently being held at Central Bank. The Board of Alderman had voted in the June 20<sup>th</sup> Meeting to move the funds to United Missouri Bank for a 6-month term paying 5% APY. It was discovered after this decision was made that only individuals were eligible for these accounts. Because the 10-day period to decide on the CD would expire before the next regular Board of Alderman Meeting, and emergency meeting is required.

The next best option was determined to be the 13-month offering at 4.85% APY from Academy Bank. But Central Bank offered to match this rate and term, so the Board of Aldermen decided that leaving the funds with Central Bank, but at the higher rate was the best option for the funds.

Finance Chair Mesimer moved to renew the Sewer CD at Central Bank for 13 months at an interest rate of 4.85%. Alderman Moss seconded the motion. The vote was as follows: Jacoby – aye, Mesimer – aye, Moss –aye, Gallagher – aye, Ohlsen – aye, Scarborough – absent, Page – absent, and Langner - absent. Motion passed 5 ayes, 3 absent, 0 nays.

**Adjournment:** There being no further business, Alderwoman Mesimer moved to adjourn. Alderman Moss seconded the motion. The vote was as follows: Jacoby – aye, Mesimer – aye, Moss – aye, Gallagher – aye, Ohlsen – aye, Scarborough – absent, Page – absent, and Langner - absent. Motion passed 5 ayes, 3 absent, 0 nays.

	Mayor James Smith
ATTEST: Matthew Chapman, City Clerk	-